top of page


What is Zakat


Zakat, the ritual almsgiving, is one of the five pillars of Islam. It is a tribute - to the community - that the faithful are required to make in order to purify their wealth. Every adult Muslim, healthy and in possession of the "nissab" (the minimum value of wealth that must be accumulated over the course of a year for Zakat to become mandatory) must donate 2.5% of his wealth to charity



84.7 g of gold

592.9 g of silver


Why making Zakat?


Zakat is not charity, it is not voluntary, it is not a tax but it is a religious duty. By making Zakat, a Muslim is recognizing that everything belongs to Allah and that we don't really own it, we should use it to remember Allah and help those in need. It is also an act that helps us free ourselves from excessive avarice by learning self-discipline and honesty.



The Quran, in Surat Al-Tawbah, mentions eight groups of people to whom Zakat should be intended:


"إنما الصدقات للفقراء والمساكين والعاملين عليها والمؤلفة قلوبهم وفي الرقاب والغارمين وفي سبيل الله وابن السبيل

ۖ فَرِيضَةً مِّنَ اللَّهِ ۗ وَاللَّهُ عَلِيمٌ حَكِيمٌ "التوبة


The alms are for the needy, for the poor, for those in charge of collecting them, for those whose hearts must be conquered, for the redemption of slaves, for those heavily indebted, for the path of Allah and for the wayfarer. Allah's decree! Allah is wise, wise.

(Surat Al-Tawbah 9:60)

1. Fuqara ': the needy
2. Al-Maskin: the poor
3. Aamileen: entities that collect Zakat
4. Muallafatul Quloob: poor and needy who recently converted to Islam
5. Ar-Riqaab: slaves; Zakat can be used to purchase their freedom
6. Al Ghaarimeen: those who are heavily indebted
7. Fi Sabeelillah: for the path of Allah
8. Ibnus-Sabeel: travelers stuck in situations of need for financial assistance


bottom of page